profile of Marcus

Neil Young to tour Oz with Crazy Horse

The "godfather of grunge" Neil Young has announced a tour of Australia with his long-time backing band Crazy Horse.

While Young was last out in Australia for his co-headline slot on the 2010 Big Day Out festival, his last run of proper headline shows here were back in 2003 behind his Greendale album. Fans who bemoaned that tours avoidance of "hits" (and who were summarily pissed that he then rolled out all the hits for the Big Day Out shows) might find some solace in today's announcement saying that "the March 2013 shows promise to showcase both new material from their recently released album ‘Psychedelic Pill’ (out now through Warner) and the classic hits that helped make Neil Young a household name." (Note: nothing off Greendale made you a household name Neil. They're talking 'Old Man' and 'Needle and the Damage Done' and that one album you did with Pearl Jam when they were in love with 'Rockin' In The Free World' OK? Good.)

NEIL YOUNG WITH CRAZY HORSE - AUSTRALIA / NEW ZEALAND TOUR – MARCH 2013 

Saturday 2 March -Perth Arena
www.ticketek.com.au>  
 
Tuesday 5 March - Adelaide Entertainment Centre
www.ticketek.com.au>  
 
Thursday 7 March - Brisbane Entertainment Centre
www.ticketek.com.au
 
Saturday 9 March - A Day On The Green, Bimbadgen Winery, Hunter Valley, NSW
www.ticketmaster.com.au
 
Sunday 10 March - Sydney Entertainment Centre
www.ticketmaster.com.au
 
Friday 15 March - Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne
www.ticketek.com.au
 
Saturday 16 March - A Day On The Green, The Hill Winery, Surf Coast Geelong, VIC
www.ticketmaster.com.au

Tuesday 19 March - TSB Arena, Wellington
www.ticketek.co.nz
 
Thursday 21 March - Vector Arena, Auckland
www.ticketmaster.co.nz

Pre-sale tickets for the arena shows available via www.frontiertouring.com/neilyoungIn Australia from Wednesday 14 November noon local time to Thursday 15 November noon local time
(or until the pre-sale allocation is exhausted).
 
In NZ from Wednesday 14 November 2pm NZDT to Thursday 15 November NZDT
(or until pre-sale allocation is exhausted)
 
General Public on-sale from 9am local time Monday 19  November

Previous article