Nominees for the Inside Film Awards

The 10th annual Inside Film Awards kicked off with a bang today, as Julia Zemiro announced the nominees at the Blue Hotel Water Bar in Woolloomooloo, Sydney.

The Black Balloon leads the way with 10 nominations, including a nod for the award for Best Feature Film. Joining them in the race for the best feature gong are independent films Men’s Group and Son of a Lion.

The Black Balloon also received a nomination for Best Director category for Elissa Down; Best Actress, for Gemma Ward’s performance; Best Actor, for Rhys Wakefield’s performance; Best Cinematography, for Denson Baker ACS; Best Script by Jimmy The Exploder and Elissa Down. The Black Balloon also pick up nominations for Best Production Design, Best Editing, Best Sound and Best Music.

Men’s Group picked up a total of four nominations, including for the Best Actor, (for Grant Dodwell), Best Music and Best Script (for director Michael Joy and John L Simpson). Men’s Group is currently undergoing a staggered release around the country, having already won last year’s SPAARTAN Award and played strongly at the major film festivals.

In addition to it’s nomination for Best Feature Film, Son of a Lion rounded out the Best Music category with a nomination for Amanda Brown. The maverick production has also picked up a nomination in the Post Op Group Independent Spirit IF Award for director Benjamin Gilmour and producer Carolyn Johnson.

Unfinished Sky nabbed eight nods in the nominations, including Best Actress for Dutch leading lady Monic Hendrickx. Other nominations include Best Actor (for William McInnes); Best Director and Best Script for Peter Duncan; Best Production Design; Best Editing; Best Sound; and Best Cinematography for Robert Humphreys ACS, a previous IF Award winner for his work on Somersault in 2004.

Black Water picked up three nominations, and rounds out the feature film categories. Maeve Dermody has been recognised with a nomination for Best Actress for her lead role in the frightening indy crocodile flick, which has also been given a nod in the IF Award for Best Director nominations for David Nerlih and Andrew Traucki as well as the Cutting Edge IF Award for Best Editing.

Tropfest feature film September picked up two nominations today in Best Cinematography for Jules O’Loughlin and for Sam Hobbs for Best Production Design.

Another Tropfest winner Steve Baker has picked up a nomination for the award for Best Animation for his new film Dog With Electric Collar, sharing the honour with producer Damon Escott. Other nominees include previous winners of the New Filmmakers Award, co-directors Ruwan de Silva and Joshua Beahan for their film The Covenant of Mr Kasch. Director Glen Hunwick’s Mutt, produced by previous IF Award winner Beth Frey is also nominated for the Best Animation award.

The nominees for Best Documentary are The Oasis, Playing In The Shadows and The Burning Season.

Tom Zubrycki, a nominee for the IF Best Documentary in 2001, 2002 and 2003, as well as a winner for Best Short Documentary in 2006, continues his run with another nomination for his film Mad Morro for Best Short Documentary. Director Randall Wood and producer Vickie Gest nab a nomination for Rare Chicken Rescue, while director Matthew Pond and producer Tina Lymberis receive a nod for their film Undressing Vanessa.

Nominations for the Best Short Film award go to Erin White and Zyra McAuliffe for fOUR, Nash Edgerton and Nicole O’Donohue for Spider and Steve and Jules Callen for You Better Watch Out.

The Independent Spirit Award nominees include; Christopher Weekes, writer/director and lead actor of Bitter & Twisted; producer Jason Byrne who independently funded and distributed cult comedy Rats & Cats; and director Benjamin Gilmour, along with producer Carolyn Johnson who have successfully launched their first documentary Son of a Lion.

The nominees for the Rising Talent Award include; Amy Gebhardt (Director of Heart, Look Sharp); Cris Jones (Director of The Funk); and Leon Ford (Director of Katoomba, Actor The Last Chip).

For the second year, the Inside Film Awards recognised the work of filmmakers in the form of the music video, last year won by director Natasha Pincus with her Paul Kelly music clip God Told Me To. Over 100 music videos were submitted for nomination, with audience response up by over 70 per cent on last year. This years nominees for the 3 IF Award for Best Music Video are; director Luke Eve and producer Simon Ritch for Emergency! Emergency!, performed by The Hot Lies; directors Stephen Lance and Damon Escott (who also received a nomination for his animation) with producer Leanne Tonkes for If You Keep Losing Sleep, performed by Silverchair; and lastly, directors Angus & Julia Stone, Josh Groom and Andrew Yoole with producers Madeleine Milasas and Jodie Passmore for Just A Boy, performed by Angus & Julia Stone.

The winners of the IF Awards in 2008 will be revealed on Thursday 13 November when the glittering ceremony takes place on the Gold Coast. TheVine will be there to report on all the glamour and action. Get excited.
profile of SimoneMitchell

1 comments so far..

  • arielamazing's avatar
    Date and time
    Wednesday 01 Oct 2008 - 3:44 PM
    The Black Balloon is a really good film.
    This comment has been flagged.
    This comment has been marked for removal.
    This comment has been marked as spam and will be purged.

Next article


By on